Wednesday , June 19 2024

Liverpool to face FC Barcelona at Wembley

The clash, which was confirmed at a press conference at the national stadium on Tuesday afternoon, will take place on Saturday August 6, kicking off at 5pm BST.

LFC ambassador Gary McAllister and Ronald de Boer, representing Barcelona, were at Wembley today to help launch the news.

McAllister commented: “What an incredible game to round off such a high-profile tournament – and all set under the iconic Wembley arch.

“I’m sure this game will be a great spectacle for Reds fans and football fans in general. I can’t wait.”

The Reds are one of 10 teams competing in the International Champions Cup and will play two matches in California in July before heading back to the UK to face Barcelona.

  • July 27: Liverpool v Chelsea – Rose Bowl, Pasadena, California. 8.30pm Pacific time (4.30am BST, July 28).
  • July 30: Liverpool v AC Milan – Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, California. 7pm Pacific time (3am BST, July 31).
  • August 6: Liverpool v FC Barcelona – Wembley, 5pm BST.

Charlie Stillitano, chairman of Relevent Sports, said: “Barcelona and Liverpool are two of the biggest football clubs in the world.

“The ability to have these two powerhouse clubs compete is what the ICC is all about and truly an honour. Bringing these clubs and the ICC to Wembley Stadium is an incredible mark of the growth of the tournament in only four years.”

Tickets for the game will go on sale for LFC season ticket holders and Members  on June 1 at 10am.

A general sale will commence at 10am on Friday June 3. Ticket prices will start from £26 for adults, with junior tickets priced £15.

Check Also

Bawumia’s manifesto: Asamoah Gyan chairs youth and sports sub-committee

Ghanaian sports legend Asamoah Gyan has been named as part of a team tasked to …