Sunday , June 16 2024

MTN-Ghana to headline 41st SWAG Awards

Communication Giants MTN Ghana Limited, will remain the headline sponsors for the 41st Edition of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards night.

This was after a successful meeting with officials of MTN Ghana and the Executive Committee of SWAG.

The 41st MTN-SWAG awards will be held at the Banquet Hall State House, Accra on Saturday, May 28 and it is aimed at conferring honours on spots men and women who excelled in 2015 sporting Calender.

A statement signed by William Dodzi Ezah, General Secretary of SWAG said, the event would remain “MTN-SWAG Awards Night” making it the sixth consecutive year, since the two bodies joined hands in the sponsorship agreement.

According to the statement, the 41st MTN-SWAG Awards would coincide with the 20th Anniversary celebrations of the communication giants as well.

The statement said, MTN-Ghana has over the years been satisfied with their relationship with SWAG, hence the decision to renew the contract after the expiration of the last contract in 2015.

It said, the MTN-SWAG Awards, one of the longest running sports events in the country, would officially be launched on Monday, May 16, at the head office of MTN-Ghana at Ridge.

The headline sponsors, would use the launching to announce their package for the 41st MTN-SWAG Awards, whilst SWAG would also use the occasion to announce to the public details of this years event.

In all 26 sports men and women drawn from the various sporting disciplines would be honoured on the night for their performance in the year 2015.

Below is the list of nominees and award winners; Sports Personality of the Year: Andre Ayew, Asamoah Gyan, Yusif Basigi, Bashiru Hayford, Footballer of the Year; Andre Ayew, Asamoah Gyan, Harrison Afful, Premier League Star of the Year

Eric Opoku (Ashgold), Kennedy Ashia (Liberty Pros), Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars), National Team of the Year; Black Queens     – The female national team, Golden Rackets   – National Tennis Team, Coach of the Year; Yusif Basigi (Black Queens, Hasaacas Ladies), Bashiru Hayford (Ashgold), Henry Quansah (Golden Rackets), Professional Boxer of the Year; Richard Commey, Amateur Boxer of the Year; David Bawa, Athlete of the Year (male); John Ampomah, Athelete of the Year (female); Nadia Eke, Para-Athlete of the Year; Patrick Yaw Obeng, Female Hockey Player of the Year; Jonny Botsio, Female Hockey Player of the Year; Nafisatu Umaru, Table Tennis Star of the Year; Felix Lartey, Bernard Joe Sam, Emmanuel Commey, Derrick Abrefa, Judoka of the Year (female); Szandra Szogoli, Judoka of the Year (male); Emmanuel Nartey (All Africa 60kg bronze),Taekwondo Star of the Year; David Adjetey, Association Chairman/President of the Year; Frederick Otu Lartey of the Ghana Taekwondo Association (GTA), Discovery of the Year; Richard Seklorwu (long jump gold medallist, Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa), Joseph Tindan Kuyon (silver medalist, World Children Taekwondo Culture Festival in South Korea), Most Promising Star: Joel Fameyeh, Dedication and Valour: Stephen Oduro (Asante Kotoko), Lifetime Achievement Award: Sophia Okulley (women’s football), The Special Awards; Asamoah Gyan (sports philanthropy), Eben Annang Whyte (development of table tennis) and Police Women’s Hockey team (silver medalist, African Clubs Championship).

Check Also

Bawumia’s manifesto: Asamoah Gyan chairs youth and sports sub-committee

Ghanaian sports legend Asamoah Gyan has been named as part of a team tasked to …