Sunday , July 21 2024
NPP Flagbearership Race

NPP Flagbearership Race: Agyarko, Kwabena Agyapong and 2 others pick nomination forms

Four people have picked nomination forms to contest in the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) presidential primaries.

Former Energy Minister, Boakye Kyeremanten Agyarko was the first to pick the forms on Friday, May 26.

The spokesperson for his campaign team, Dr. Benjamin Ashittey, told JoyNews they are ready for the contest.

He noted that they do not intend to back down because they believe in the former Minister’s ability to help in developing the country.

The campaign team of former NPP General Secretary, Kwabena Agyapong, also picked forms on his behalf for the presidential race.

Also, a two-time NPP presidential aspirant and economist, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, had his team picking up forms on his behalf.

The Communications Director of the campaign team, Kwame Obiri Nkansah, said Dr. Apraku is an experienced stalwart and the right person to break the eight.

Again, friends of the former MP for Mampong, Addai Nimo, picked nomination forms on his behalf. The leader of the group, George Obeng Antwi, said Mr Nimo is the right person to lead the party.

Other aspirants expected to pick forms include former Minister of Trade and Industry, Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen; former Agric Minister, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto; Kennedy Agyapong and Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

But, earlier on Friday, members of a group known as the Bawumia Fun Club from the Dome- Kwabena Constituency reportedly picked a form on behalf of the vice president.

However, a member of Dr Bawumia’s campaign team told MyJoyOnline that the Vice President will pick nomination forms next week.

Nominations will remain open for nearly a month and close on Saturday, June 24, 2023.

The aspirants are directed to pick up nomination forms at the party’s headquarters in Asylum Down, Accra, from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm on Monday to Friday.

NPP presidential primaries calendar

Friday, May 26, 2023 – Opening of Nominations
Saturday, June 24, 2023 – Closing of Nominations
Saturday, August 26, 2023 – Special Electoral College Elections (if any)
Saturday, November 4, 2023 – National Congress


Source : myjoyonline

Check Also

Election 2024: Bawumia leads Mahama in 10 swing constituencies – Outcomes Int’l Report

New Patriotic Party (NPP) Flagbearer, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, is gaining substantial support in constituencies crucial …