Saturday , July 20 2024

Facebook Football Awards: Riyad Mahrez beats Jamie Vardy to player of the year award

Leicester City star Riyad Mahrez has beaten teammate Jamie Vardy to claim the player of the year prize at the Facebook Football Awards.

The Algerian, who last month took the PFA player of the year crown, has enjoyed a sensational season in the Foxes tremendous title triumph.

Mahrez, 25, has 17 goals and 10 assists this term, shining in his role as Claudio Ranieri’s chief creator.

The winger has bewitched a host of opposing defences during the season, his ability to beat a man and provide either a killer pass or shot on goal playing an instrumental part in Leicester’s fairytale campaign.

“It’s something special, and something big as well, because it’s from all over the world, and I thank them, and thanks to all of my fans,” said Mahrez. “I love all my fans. I am very happy.”

His form has seen him linked with a move to a number of Europe’s biggest clubs this summer, but he has vowed to stay at the King Power this summer, ahead of the club’s Champions League debut.

Mahrez’s Leicester teammate Vardy came second, after his 24-goal campaign fired the Foxes to the title.

The England striker, 29, scored for 11 successive games earlier this term – a Premier League record – and has bagged a host of important goals, including a brace in the recent 2-0 win at Sunderland and two more in the 3-1 weekend victory over Everton.

Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil took third place, as almost one million votes were cast worldwide as fans had their say on the best performers of the 2015-16 season.

The World Cup winner, 27, has registered 18 assists for the Gunners in 34 Premier League games this season, albeit only two since December.

Leicester’s all-action French midfielder N’Golo Kante was also nominated for the main individual prize, as well as West Ham playmaker Dimitri Payet and the Premier League’s top-scorer, Tottenham and England striker Harry Kane.

Meanwhile, Leicester completed a hat-trick of awards, with Claudio Ranieri scooping the manager of the year prize, while they also took club of the year.

Other winners

Young player of the year: Anthony Martial

Best XI of the year     (4-3-3)  : David de Gea; Hector Bellerin, Robert Huth, Chris Smalling, Toby Alderweireld; Riyad Mahrez, Dele Alli, Dimitri Payet; Jamie Vardy, Harry Kane, Sergio Aguero.

Manager of the year: Claudio Ranieri

Mirror Football fan of the year: George Shaw

Content of the year: Sir Alex Ferguson – Preparation.

Club of the year: Leicester City

Check Also

Bawumia’s manifesto: Asamoah Gyan chairs youth and sports sub-committee

Ghanaian sports legend Asamoah Gyan has been named as part of a team tasked to …