Thursday , September 28 2023

Belgium named 24 Man Squad For Euro 2016 squad

Twelve Premier League players have been named in Belgium’s preliminary squad for this summer’s European Championships.

Manager Marc Wilmots has named an initial 24-man roster, which will be cut to 23 before the tournament.

The Premier League players included are: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Toby Alderweireld (Spurs), Jason Denayer (Man City), Jan Vertonghen (Spurs), Mousa Dembele (Spurs), Marouane Fellaini (Man United), Christian Benteke (Liverpool), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Everton) and Divock Origi (Liverpool).

Tottenham’s Nacer Chadli and Everton’s Kevin Mirallas have both been named on the standby list while Man City captain Vincent Kompany misses out through injury.

Speaking about Kompany’s absence, Wilmots said: “Vincent Kompany’s absence is sad for him and for the team. He’s a leader. He will not be part of the staff.”

Wilmots also confirmed that Chelsea’s Hazard would captain the side in France.

“In Vincent Kompany’s absence, Hazard will be our captain,” he said.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois, Simon Mignolet, Jean-François Gillet.

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld, Dedryck Boyata, Jason Denayer, Björn Engels, Nicolas Lombaerts, Jordan Lukaku, Thomas Meunier, Thomas Vermaelen, Jan Vertonghen.

Midfielders: Mousa Dembele, Marouane Fellaini, Radja Nainggolan, Axel Witsel, Eden Hazard, Kevin De Bruyne, Yannick Carrasco, Dries Mertens.

Forwards: Michy Batshuayi, Christian Benteke, Divock Origi, Romelu Lukaku.

Check Also

No good culture at Man Utd when I arrived – Ten Hag

Erik ten Hag says there was “no good culture” when he arrived at Manchester United …